RSS Feed

Drawing Materials: What I Use

Image

I often get asked on my deviantART page (http://bee-minor.deviantart.com/) and my youtube page (http://www.youtube.com/BeeMinors) what materials I use for drawing.

So I thought instead of me re-typing the same answer every time I’d just make a post detailing what materials I use and how/why.

Pencils

Image

I use standard Daler~Rowney graphite pencils for my drawings. As you can see in the picture above, they range from 2H – 9B.

Basically what all these numbers and letters mean are as follows;

 ‘H’ stands for ‘Hardness’ (basically how hard/soft the pencil line will appear on your page)

 ‘B’ stands for ‘Blackness’ (how dark the pencil shade will appear on your page)

Therefore if you had a 9H pencil, this would be very hard. The only ‘H’ pencil I own is a 2H which is great for outlining/sketching at the start of your drawing.

The F pencil is pretty much in the middle of the graphite scale, meaning is it also very good for outlining/sketching.

Then we come to the B’s. The higher the number on a B pencil, the darker the shade. Therefore a 2B would be good for light shading, and a 9B (which I go through alot of) is great for darker shading, such as hair (black, or brunette), or an eye pupil, etc. B pencils are also alot softer than H pencils.

This set is great to have if you are only starting off or even if you have been drawing for years like me. Whilst I highly recommend these pencils, I also suggest you try around with a few different brand pencils to see which one suits your drawing needs the most. While I was studying art in school I used Faber Castell pencils and they were good, but after discovering Daler~Rowney I don’t think I’d ever go back to them.

Mechanical Pencil

Image

I cannot stress enough how essential it is for me to have a mechanical pencil when I’m drawing!

I use a 0.3mm lead (but they come in a few different sizes) which is small enough to allow accuracy when drawing detail such as eye lashes, eyebrows, fly-away hair, etc. (see picture below)

I noticed a huge improvement in my drawings after purchasing a mechanical pencil (which are very reasonably priced). You can also buy replacement lead when the pencil runs out.

Most mechanical pencils also have a small eraser on the top which also assists in precise highlighting for smaller areas.Image

Stump/Tortillon

Image

A paper stump is basically a roll of paper tightly wound into a stick that is used for blending and smudging. I especially love stumps for blending smaller areas such as around the eyes and mouth.

A tortillon is essentially the same principle, the main difference being a tortillon is hollow and a stump is solid.

The pictures above show four stumps in varying sizes, and one tortillon (far left of the first picture).

Below illustrates how/where I would use a stump/tortillon on a drawing.

Image

Kneaded Eraser

A kneaded eraser is basically an eraser that resembles gum or Blu-Tack. It is a stretchy material and therefore can be shaped such as into a point for precise highlighting/erasing.

This eraser can be used to lift any mistakes from your drawing, or can be used as a highlighter as shown below.

Kneaded erasers do not wear away like standard erasers (also pictured below) and therefore last longer and do not leave any residue like a standard eraser.

Image

Tissue

Yes. A tissue. Tissue is a fantastic tool that I use in every drawing I do for blending large areas of the drawing (such as shading the face and hair).

If you have never tried this method before I highly recommend you do.

So that is it for all the materials I use for drawing.

If you are interested in seeing any of my drawings feel free to visit my deviantART page http://bee-minor.deviantart.com/

The drawing used in some of the pictures above is my drawing of Darren Criss which I will link here: http://bee-minor.deviantart.com/gallery/#/art/Blaine-336730105?_sid=609f14f8

If you have any more questions about drawing materials (or art in general) please leave a comment and I’ll hopefully have an answer for you!

– Bee

One response »

  1. Pingback: Painting Materials: What I Use | BeeMinor

Leave a Reply

