RSS Feed

The Lion King | West End Show

Posted on

lionkingGreetings,

Apologies for my absense over the past 2-3 weeks, I have been a very busy bee.

Yesterday, I finally got to use my Christmas present, which was tickets to see The Lion King on the West End…well, sort of.

I live in Ireland, so I was very excited to find out that alot of West End shows would be coming on tour to the Bord Gais Energy Theatre in Dublin. For Christmas my brother surprised me with tickets for The Lion King which coincided with my birthday (as my birthday is next tuesday).

I really enjoy seeing shows, especially musicals, whether they be completely amatuer, or performed by well known actors (like the time I got to see Cillian Murphy in his one man play!). However, seeing as this was a West End production, and considering I am a huge Disney fanatic, I had very high expectations for this show. Not only were these expectations met, they were greatly suceeded.

I had never been to the Bord Gais Energy Theatre before, so I didn’t really know what to expect. The place was really nice, and our seats were perfect. They were in the dead centre and I had a perfect view of both the stage and the side stalls which included some performers throughout the production.

As far as the actors go, they were superb! Baby Simba and Nala were so adorable! The guy who plays Pumbaa got the voice dead on, he was amazing. And I love the fact that Zazu was Scottish!

The-Lion-King-4lion_king01_aug09

There were some great gags throughout the story also, I especially loved the riverdance. Perhaps anyone who has seen this show can tell me, is the riverdance included in every production or was this just a special gag for the Irish audience?

As for the music, I am speechless. I knew all the songs going into the show but I was seriously blown away with how they were performed, especially ‘Circle of Life’ and ‘I Just Can’t Wait To Be King’. ‘Circle of Life’ is the very first song perfomed in this show (as it is in the film) and I honestly got really teary-eyed. Not because it was sad or anything, I was just overwhelmed with the production. I was also seriously impressed with how well the kids performed ‘I Just Can’t Wait To Be King’.

TheLionKingReview4

So if you can get your hands on some tickets to see this show, DO! It is simply the best show I have ever seen in my life. No doubts about it. I’m already planning my next trip back to the theatre!

943232_4161634257515_473388034_n

My programme

The Lion King gets 5 stars from me, it is well worth seeing.

– Bee

2 responses »

  1. “Be Prepared” must have been epic on stage!

    Reply
    • Oh it was, the actor who played Scar was incredible! Be prepared was one of my favourite performances, and actually one I was really looking forward to seeing!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

