RSS Feed

Book Blog | Books I Own But Have Not Yet Read

Posted on

On Monday, I wrote a post about some of my favourite books, so today I decided to discuss some books that I have bought but have not yet found the time to read.
I am a bit of a divil when it comes to buying loads of books at once, and thus I end up with a big stack of books to read.
Most of these books are relatively new, and I can only read one book at a time right? So this is why I have not yet gotten around to reading them.

to read

First up is one of my favourite authors at the moment, and that is John Green. I hate to sound like a broken record, but The Fault in Our Stars is one of my favourite books so naturally I went out and bought all of John Green’s other books (except for Will Grayson, Will Grayson which I have yet to get my hands on!).

I have read TFIOS and Looking For Alaska (both of which I loved) so I am very excited about reading both An Abundance of Katherines, and Paper Towns. I bought TFIOS when it was first released back in January 2012, but I was re-reading it about a month or two ago and decided to look in to John Green’s other books. Luckily, Easons was having a huge 3-for-2 offer on a lot of their books so I bought Looking for Alaska, An Abundance of Katherines, and Paper Towns all for under €20, which is a steal in my opinion. (This offer is still on at the moment if you are looking to get these books at easons.ie and they do ship worldwide!)

So I read Looking For Alaska first and loved it but for some strange reason I still have not read An Abundance of Katherines or Paper Towns.

An Abundance of Katherines is about a guy named Colin Singleton who has been dumped nineteen times but girls named Katherine. Colin sets out to prove ‘The Theorem of Underlying Katherine Predictability’ in which he hopes to predict his future relationships and finally get the girl. I can’t say I have really come across a book like this before so I am quite excited to give it a go.

Paper Towns is about a guy names Quentin Jacobsen who has spent his whole life loving a girl names Margo. After an all-nighter with Margo, Quentin arrives at school only to discover that Margo has not. Margo has now become a mystery and Quentin discovers that there are clues which will lead him to Margo. The description of this book definitely intrigued me so I am also quite excited to read this book. No doubt there will be blog posts discussing them once I have them read.

*

 

Next up are literary classics, both by Victor Hugo. I was in town one day wandering around the place and decided to pop in to a book shop that I never really go into (easons is my go-to bookshop!). I found a corner of literary classics and I swear to you I was tempted to stay there all day – the best part was they all cost €2.90! Seriously, €2.90 for classics such as Jane Eyre, Wuthering Heights, Oliver Twist, etc. I couldn’t get over it so naturally I picked up several books, two of which included The Hunchback of Notre-Dame, and Les Misérables, by Victor Hugo. I don’t really feel the need to divulge in the plot summaries of these novels seeing as they are widely known thanks to pop culture.

I have loved Disney’s animated classic The Hunchback of Notre-Dame since it was released in 1996, so when I saw the novel I immediately wanted to read it. Now if you’re thinking to yourself, oh I too love the Disney film, perhaps I will read the book, let me warn you, this story is nothing like Disney’s adaptation. This novel is very dark, dramatic, and almost gothic-romantic literature. It certainly does not paint the ‘everything turns out okay in the end’ story that Disney does. But regardless I do want to read this book…eventually!

Again similar to Hunchback, I absolutely love the musical Les Misérables, so naturally I was drawn to the novel it is based on. As far as I know the novel and musical have pretty much the same story line so I pretty much know what to expect but I still do want to read this book whenever I get the chance.

*

 

Keeping on the musicals theme, I recently bought the book Wicked: The Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West, by Gregory Maguire. The main reason I bought this is because I had just purchased tickets to go see Wicked the west-end musical, and I was also watching youtube videos of Idina Menzel from her time playing Elphaba on Broadway, and in one of these videos she talked about this book, and I am easily swayed so I decided to read the book for myself. I have actually already started reading it but I found it a little bit difficult to get into so I am definitely going to give it another go because I want to have it read before I see the musical.

*

 

Another book I bought, and started reading but found it difficult to get into was The Casual Vacancy by J.K. Rowling. This was J.K. Rowling’s first book following her Harry Potter series, so naturally there was a lot of hype surrounding it. I remember looking forward to its release date, and went out especially to buy it on that day, yet here we are a year later and I have still not read it. Why? I really don’t know. I began reading it just before I graduated last year, but for some reason I just never finished it! I definitely have to get reading it again, and hopefully The Cuckoo’s Calling also.

*

 

Finally we come to The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick. I saw a movie last year by the name of ‘Silver Linings Playbook’, starring one of my favourite actors, Jennifer Lawrence, and loved the film. Then, when I was watching the Oscars, I noticed that this film was nominated for Best Screenplay Adaptation, and I thought to myself, wait a second, this was a book? I have to get on that. So I did. Now I have read probably half of the book and really really liked it, and once again I found myself forgetting about it and not coming back to it. I hate starting halfway through a book after several months so I prefer to just start from the beginning again. So technically I guess I have read a lot of this book but I am still looking forward to finishing it. There are a lot of interesting aspects to the main character in this book which unfortunately cannot be portrayed in a 120min movie.

 

So these are all the books I own that I for some strange reason have yet to read. Now probably isn’t the best time to say that I have more books ordered in the post ha!

Please let me know if you have read any of these books, and what you think of them (without spoiling them of course!), I would be really interested in hearing your opinions. Similarily, if you have read any good books lately that you think are similar to these that you think I should read please let me know because I love hearing about new books.

– Bee

Leave a Reply

