RSS Feed

15 Films I Probably Should Have Seen By Now

The last day I was having a conversation to someone about the fact they had never seen Dirty Dancing, and I thought that was one of those movies everyone and their mother has seen.

Then that got me thinking about what films “everyone has seen” that I hadn’t, and let me tell you, there are a lot!

1. Avatar (2009)

1. Avatar

A paraplegic Marine dispatched to the moon Pandora on a unique mission becomes torn between following his orders and protecting the world he feels is his home.

There was so much hype surrounding this movie when it first came out that it almost made me not want to see it as bizarre as that sounds. I have heard it is basically the same story line to Disney’s Pocahontas which intrigues me, but also annoys me.

The reviews for this are very 50/50. A friend of mine loves it and has seen it many times, but my brother told me it was pure crap, not to bother watching it. So I’m really unsure, thoughts?

 

2. Casablanca (1942)

Casablanca

Set in unoccupied Africa during the early days of World War II: An American expatriate meets a former lover, with unforeseen complications.

This is said to be the love story of all love stories, and yet I still haven’t seen it!

I really like Humphrey Bogart as an actor though so hopefully one day I will sit down to watch it.

 

 

3. Gone With The Wind (1939)

Gone With The Wind

A manipulative Southern belle carries on a turbulent affair with a blockade runner during the American Civil War.

From its description, it doesn’t really sound like my kind of movie, yet it is another ‘must-see’ movie so it must be good.

 

4. Home Alone (1990)

Home Alone

An 8-year-old boy, who is accidentally left behind while his family flies to France for Christmas, has to defend his home against idiotic burglars.

I have so many friends who would just freak out if they realised I have never seen this film, or the sequel Home Alone 2. But it gets worse! I have seen Home Alone 3 more times than I can count. It was one of those movies I watched almost every day as a kid, I practically know all the lines off by heart. So why haven’t I seen the original film? I have no idea…this Christmas I WILL WATCH IT!!!

 

5. Indiana Jones (1981)

Indiana Jones

Archaeologist and adventurer Indiana Jones is hired by the US government to find the Ark of the Covenant before the Nazis.

And I’m not talking just this one, I have never seen any of the Indiana Jones movies. I just don’t really have an interest in them, I’m sure they are amazing, but I’ve never been bothered enough to actually sit down and watch one.

 

6. It’s A Wonderful Life (1946)

It's A Wonderful Life

An angel helps a compassionate but despairingly frustrated businessman by showing what life would have been like if he never existed.

I have never seen this Christmas classic, though that’s not to say I’ve never sat down to watch it before.

A few Christmas’ ago, I bought this for my dad on DVD because he loves this movie. After we finished our big Christmas dinner we sat down as a family to watch it and everyone fell asleep! So we didn’t actually finish it (to be honest it was barely half an hour in!). Maybe next Christmas I will watch it!

 

007. James Bond (1936 – present)

James Bond

I have a feeling I will be shunned for this one, but no. I have never seen any James Bond film in my life.

Ever.

Say what?

It’s true! For some reason I have never seen any of the 23 James Bond movies that have been made…I don’t know why…*cough*

Let’s not dwell on this too much, and move on.

 

8. Jaws (1975)

Jaws

When a gigantic great white shark begins to menace the small island community of Amity, a police chief, a marine scientist and grizzled fisherman set out to stop it.

Now, I have seen some parts of this movie, but I’ve never seen the whole thing. But honestly, I’m already scared enough of the ocean as it is, I don’t think this film will help that fear!

9. Rocky (1976)

MV5BMTY5MDMzODUyOF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMTQ3NTMyNA@@__V1__SX140_CR0,0,140,209_

A small-time boxer gets a supremely rare chance to fight the heavy-weight champion in a bout in which he strives to go the distance for his self-respect.

Funny thing is, when I was younger, I went through a phase where I really wanted to do boxing (in hindsight I’m happy I didn’t!) This is one of those films on everyone’s ‘must see before you die’ list and yet I still haven’t got around to watching it!

10. Schindler’s List (1993)

Schindeler's List

In Poland during World War II, Oskar Schindler gradually becomes concerned for his Jewish workforce after witnessing their persecution by the Nazis.

I know this is supposed to be one of the best films ever made, but I really don’t like films about war so I’m not sure I would like this. Please let me know if you have seen this if it is really worth watching, if enough people convince me, I might just give it a go!

One thing I will say is that the soundtrack is amazing!

11. Silence of the Lambs (1991)

Silence of the Lambs

A young F.B.I. cadet must confide in an incarcerated and manipulative killer to receive his help on catching another serial killer who skins his victims.

So remember that episode of FRIENDS, where Joey says, “Joey. Doesn’t. Share. Food”

Well… I. DON’T. DO. SCARY. MOVIES!!!

I didn’t sleep for like 2 weeks after watching The Others, and that’s not even that scary!

So even though this is a film everyone seems to have seen, I think I’ll pass on this one.

12. Singing in the Rain (1952)

Singing in the Rain

A silent film production company and cast make a difficult transition to sound.

I love musicals, so I am quite ashamed to say I have never seen this film.

But mark my words, I will get around to it soon!

13. The Godfather (1972)

MV5BMjEyMjcyNDI4MF5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTcwMDA5Mzg3OA@@__V1_SX214_

The aging patriarch of an organized crime dynasty transfers control of his clandestine empire to his reluctant son.

This is literally the godfather of all movies to see before you die, and yet it’s on this list.

It is one of the most (if not the most) referred to movies ever!

Must see soon!

14. The Green Mile (1999)

The Green Mile

The lives of guards on Death Row are affected by one of their charges: a black man accused of child murder and rape, yet who has a mysterious gift.

This is another film that most people say you have to see before you die, some people even think it is the best film ever made.

I love Tom Hanks as an actor and the storyline seems to be pretty amazing so once again, I will see this movie…sometime.

15. The Shawshank Redemption (1994)

The Shawshank Redemption

Two imprisoned men bond over a number of years, finding solace and eventual redemption through acts of common decency.

Finally on my list is what my dad calls ‘one of the best films I’ve ever seen’.

And let’s face it Morgan Freeman doesn’t make a bad movie does he?

 

So that is it for my list of 15 Films I Probably Should Have Seen By Now.

Are there any films on this list that you too have not seen? Please let me know, and maybe I won’t feel so bad for not having seen them haha!

– Bee

4 responses »

  1. Wow, you’ve upgraded from a top 13 to a top 15 list? I have competition now, lol! So let me comment on your choices. Well firstly, I’m one of those people who haven’t seen “Dirty Dancing”. I guess I’m not really into dancing movies…unless I like the girl lol….and I haven’t really researched who’s in the movie or what it’s about. Ok, so to comment on your picks:

    1) Totally overrated and not worth seeing except for the gorgeous visuals and motion capture technology
    2) Never seen it, but plan to one day
    3) I recently watched this for the first time not too long ago and fell in love with it. It’s at least on my top 5 favorite films, period. And even though, it says it’s a romantic film, I personally find that the film doesn’t really focus much on the romance, but more on the situation in America during/around the Civil War era.
    4) Saw when I was little, but never since.
    5) These are worth a watch.
    6) Again, saw for the first time not too long ago, and was very impressed with it, despite not being a Christian hence not celebrating Christmas, but it was a good movie.
    7) Don’t feel bad. I’ve only seen 1.5 James Bond movies and found them extremely boring. So I totally understand your sentiments towards them.
    8) You havta finish it, lol!
    9) Never seen it and don’t plan to see it
    10) See above
    11) See above
    12) Not the best musical, in my opinion. Many scenes/song segments kinda drag/are purposeless, but is still worth a see. It especially looks at Hollywood’s change from silent films to talkies.
    13, 14, 15) See 9, 10, and 11

    Reply
    • Haha well I had to cut the list down a lot so it’s amazing that I even narrowed it down to 15! I’ll be back to my 13 lists soon!
      I’m glad to hear that you don’t plan on seeing a lot of these movies though, I don’t feel so bad about not seeing them either. A lot are called “classics” but aren’t really by cup of tea!
      Sorry if this seems like a rude question (by all means don’t answer if it is) but you said you don’t celebrate Christmas, so do you watch any Christmas movies at all then or not?

      Reply
      • I have seen Christmas films like “It’s a Wonderful Life” like I’ve mentioned. Also seen films like “Arthur Christmas”, “The Santa Clause”, “The Polar Express”, many versions of “A Christmas Carol”, etc. And I plan to watch “A Christmas Story” sometime.

  2. You’ve got to see The Godfather all time classic. And definately see a James Bond movie.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

