RSS Feed

Paper Towns by John Green | Review

I’ve had so many new books to read that it is only now I have found time to sit down and read another John Green novel. This time Paper Towns.

paper towns

“Quentin Jacobsen has spent a lifetime loving the magnificently adventurous Margo Roth Spiegelman from afar. So when she cracks open a window and climbs back into his life – dressed like a ninja and summoning him for an ingenious campaign of revenge – he follows.
After their all-nighter ends and a new day breaks, Q arrives at school to discover that Margo, always an enigma, has now become a mystery. But Q soon learns that there are clues – and they’re for him. Urged down a disconnected path, the closer Q gets, the less Q sees the girl he thought he knew.”

So as the description of the book would suggest, this story portrays a boy called Quentin, or Q, who is desperate to find the mysterious Margo. The book opens with Margo entering Q’s window one night (they live across the road from one another) and Margo takes Q on an adventure with her, which basically involves her tormenting her now ex boyfriend for cheating on her with her best friend, and also all of her other friends who knew about it and didn’t tell her.

Q is very hesitant about the whole situation, but obliges to go with Margo and before he knows it, they are breaking into SeaWorld! Q happily returns home having spent an amazing night with Margo, whom he had liked for quite a long time now, and is excited to wake up the next morning to go to school to see if Margo will act any differently around him. There’s just one problem, Margo doesn’t show up at school – she had run away.

So the entire novel basically tells the story of how Q desperately searches for Margo with the help of a series of clues she has left.

Overall, I really did enjoy this book. I don’t think John Green could ever write a book I didn’t like.

My only big issue with the story really was the protagonist, Quentin. I really wanted to like Quentin as the protagonist, and I guess I did like some aspects of his character, but I couldn’t help but think as some stages throughout the novel, he was sending himself on a wild goose chase across the country (which if you live in the US, is a pretty long journey) to find a girl he has a crush on, because he followed a series of clues (which may not even be clues) as to her whereabouts. Also, I found some parts of the novel were a little repetitive around the middle of the book.

BUT, I honestly did enjoy this book, it was well written, well planned, and well executed. I may not have loved the protagonist, but it is good to come across books like this every now and again that challenge your prospective of the main protagonist.

So would I recommend this book for you to read?

Well, if you are like me and a) love John Green, b) enjoy reading YA literature, and c) are looking for a good but not completely serious book to read then yes, absolutely I would recommend this book to you.

I would give it 4 stars, basically knocking one star off because I didn’t love Quentin’s character all of the time (that’s not to say I didn’t like him for most of the book because I did).

So yes, definitely check it out if you are looking for a nice easy book to read.

– Bee

Leave a Reply

